momcat1

By momcat1

Fall plumage

Went for a walk this Am for the first time in a long time. I took the macro lens thinking even if it was too cool and cloudy for  butterflies I might get lucky with caterpillars. I also took the 300mm and no binoculars because  I thought it unlikely that I would see any birds because the last 3 walks produced not even a starling. DUMB MOVE. Because I wasn't even down the street yet when a med sized brown not a red tail or cooper's hawk  hawk flew into  the trees. Once up the hill a juvenile bald eagle flew over followed by a pair of sharp shinned hawks. Gold finches in their fading summer plumage were everywhere. One area had  a family of titmice some still looking pretty downy , nuthatches and downeys with chickadee sounds the background . And a confusing fall warbler that I still have not figured out. All in all a good walk even without the binoculars and the long lens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.