Lido Beach

By grazingllama

It Was A Dark and Stormy Night

It rained buckets today, but I held fast to the umbrella and trudged to the Y, got in the pool, swam some laps and then dried off and went back into the storm. Later that afternoon, as my team was gathered in my now humid office, we noticed it was dark outside. And it was only 3pm. Then we saw the waterfall cascading down the building. We got an email warning that the front door was flooded and could we please use the back door. And another about the bomb threats called into a dozen county courthouses. Soon it was time to go home. My turn to drive the carpool home. Gripping the steering wheel in a strangle hold I stared into the spray of a thousand vehicles turning the darkness into a smear on the windshield. But I made it. Alls well that ends well. Except for a blip, on this dark and stormy night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.