happy messy people

Oh my word these children create SO MUCH MESS. Before church I started the unenviable task of clearing out Eve’s room and once I’d started I could feel the irritation levels increasing. But she’s 6, they’re kind of supposed to be messy. I just wish my efforts to train her to be less so would work! I’m sure they will eventually. Zeke is also messy but more willing to tidy effectively if bribed. Meanwhile Eve can’t be bribed as she’d rather sit and play with the baby in her mountain of mess.

After church I blitzed the room while Antony took the bigger two swimming and then friends came over and helped the little people joyfully recreate some of the mess. Parenting is like a master class in developing patience and tolerance. (And to be fair, I was the queen of mess as a child, preferring to hide all of my mess and dirty washing in or under my bed rather than dealing with it - remembering this made me want to call Mum with a heartfelt apology)!

Later there was something of a feeding frenzy before Isaac passed out. We were confident he’d eaten plenty so Antony took him to the park with the others and I opted to soak in the bath (my happy place). I idly flicked back through blips and realised the exact same thing happened when Zeke was 7 weeks old. And then discovered he and Isaac also sleep and eat in much the same fashion.

And for all the mess and irritation, I still blip these faces because they’re really rather lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.