Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2018 Sunday — Summer becomes Autumn

Twice a day the tide changes . . . low tide gradually becomes high tide but only once a year summer gives way to autumn . . . and that magical moment is happening this weekend. I was born in autumn, so it’s no wonder that I am most comfortable in this season.

One-fifth of the semester is over, so my request was to take a journey to the Central Coast for a long pause. We have packed as much “do-nothing” into this weekend as we possibly could. . . . We’ve walked the three pups on the shore and in the park; we watched the moon illuminate the ocean’s surface and then vanish into the dark horizon; we watched the sun make the sky glow as it sizzled “farewell” and ignited the Pacific; we stayed up way too late each night; and the mornings I’m awake by 6:00, but stayed in my jammies till 10 am while watching the ocean’s blue as I leaned against our mermaid headboard; this afternoon we drove to Morro Bay to watch sailors and their sailboats, but the story I missed . . . walked right past me as a young dad and mom and three little daughters crossed the water on the foot-bridge to board their 1940s sailboat with the tiller on the stern. Another bystander said the family had sailed-in earlier today from Marin, north of San Francisco.

Stories are all around us. This weekend, God has blessed us with this one. . . . Okay, your turn.

From Cayucos on
California’s Central Coast,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.