Normality Resumed

Up early despite the late night to open the hens then take my car to the garage for it's clean. Quick stop in Callington to get lights for my Fisherman lights the electrician is fitting today. Well he never showed! Not sure if he came earlier and we missed him or he never came at all! He is usually very reliable! I took it easy for most of the day, although I did clean the fish tank! 
Party Girl who is now on the Village hall committee, had asked me via The Exile to photograph the gig in the hall this eve - I had said no as I'd seen Attila The Stockbroker before performing his punk poetry and the lighting in the hall is a devil as it makes everything pink! However come thurs eve when she asked me directly I said I would try to! I thought I could take a few shots then retire home and that would dip my toe back in the waters of social life in the village!
The Exile left early to help set up and as I had the hen close I went later with Vegan Jo.  She brought me some homemade beetroot burgers!  We met Compassionate girl walking out clearly distressed as soon as we arrived - Vegan Jo went after her but I went on into the hall - I had my own emotional trauma to face and couldn't take on hers once more. Apparently her ex was there with his new girlfriend - most awkward for her. He didn't waste much time! She did return with vegan Jo and stayed the entire eve but at one point hearing raised voices saw her talking to her ex.
All the usual people were there - Nellie and Barry of The Woods, Colourful Mai, The Angel, Tardy Coop Girl, Homeopathic Girl with her partner The Singer, my ex and his wife, best of all Friends daughters. It was so good to see The Daughters and they both gave me the biggest, longest hugs which nearly brought me and them to tears!I had a good chat with them both - The Eldest and I are going to share knowledge on Lightroom (me) and photoshop (her!) The Youngest is visiting from Brighton and spoke how she is in limbo - she has finished her degree, got a First just like her sister! She was nervous about coming home, Brighton held no memories of Friend but of course Calstock so does. I told her I'd only been home once since my mum died, I like to know my sister is there and would feel adrift if she ever sold our old house, but it makes me very emotional going there. Maybe if I went more it wouldn't. Anyway - she is going to come and look at my allotment! I also chatted to The Eldests partner who is also a singer and is now performing with Homeopathic Girls husband - infact they have a gig tomorrow! Both are also solo artists and have released albums and have featured on BBC radio programmes! We had a good old chat and he too is on the village hall Committee! In fact most of my friends are as the previous committee went seriously into debt and the new one is trying to pull the hall out of it!
Anyway - Attila was his usual raging self but the music with his band afterwards was better! I had great fun photographing the event, the really amusing part was at the beginning when there were issues with the sound and he blasted the two sound technicians which they found rather rude, especially as he was singing a song about workers rights!!! I stayed the entire evening and as usual at these events me and my friends were the last to leave! I had a couple of times when I felt funny and nearly left, but I pulled through them and I think the evening was a success in terms of me re-entering the Calstock social stream! 
P.S. I did collect my car and it was unrecognisable inside and out! Gleaming! Particularly given the chap said a car in my state would take 3 days! I asked if it was the dirtiest he'd ever had and he said it was up there! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.