Blustery morning

The serious weather wasn’t due to reach us until the afternoon so I decided to go and explore a little in the morning.

I wanted a few things from the Canalside Farm Shop in Great Haywood and I looked on the OS map to see where the canalside towpath might lead.

To my (totally irrational) surprise, I realised that Essex Bridge, one of my favourite places on the edge of the Shugborough estate, was only a short stroll to the south.

It was super. Friendly people, lovely scenery, and a selection of lovely cafes. I can recommend the Paradise Slice.

My blip (ok with the Mum) is of a lovely family who had planned a day out in Shugborough but, for some reason, it wasn’t possible. A bike ride along the towpath meant she needed all her concentration, especially as the adventurous one wasn’t keen to wait for little brother.


EDIT. Shugborough was closed because of the risk of dangerously high winds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.