Salmo salar

Caught my first Salmon on the Tweed today, really really happy about it, and of course I released it back into the river after it had posed for photos :)

Almost the last cast of the night, just at dusk when the last of the light was fading I hooked into it, the one person to do so today which was surprising as we saw lots of fish and the other guys with me are far more experienced.

I take my hat off to my friend and instructor Fen. Got a couple of little pointers from him today but he pretty much left me to it so I could just practice my casting and figure out what I was doing wrong and correct it. 2nd day out and he had me fishing on my own, targeting fish, single & double spey casting from the bank as well as in the water and this is the proof of how good his instruction is.

Caught the fish on an Allys Shrimp, tied by my old tackle supplier and friend Don, who introduced me to boat fishing for Trout. I'm glad I asked him to tie me some last week as they clearly work!

Planko

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.