Diary of a Homeowner

By JennyWrenny

Hard Times

Arrived home to find a little gift from Southern Electric on my doorstep this evening. I can see myself getting a little bit obsessed with this baby. I almost had a heart attack when I put the kettle on and watched the watts go up. So that's me sitting in the cold and dark throughout the winter whilst I try to save money on electric then.

Newcastle City Council though has fallen on harder times. Devastating news for the city this week as they axe 1300 jobs and slash the funding for the arts, libraries, leisure facilities, sure start centres, the list goes on... On the one hand the city is trying to shake it's image as a party town and address what is widely accepted as the highest levels of alcohol use in the country, but on the other hand if there is no investment in an alternative culture, where does that leave us?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.