62 yrs ago today!

I headed up to Waddington this morning for a visit to the Chiropodist. I arrived early, traffic was light, and my appointment was speedy, so with 10 minutes to spare before my next appointment I had a look round the small cemetery next to where I had parked. The sun was shining on the gravestones and I recognised from the distance a collection of War Graves. They were all deaths that occurred around 1943.

There were 3 gravestones separate to the group recording deaths on the 1st of October 1956, 62 years ago today. I took this picture never thinking that there would be a story to find.

I headed on to Metheringham to visit someone, then headed back to Lincoln to do the food shopping.

I’ve just Googled the date and name of this gentleman. He and his colleagues died when a Vulcan bomber crashed coming into land at Heathrow Airport in bad weather. It was the first Vulcan to come into service with the RAF and was returning from a trip to Australia and New Zealand.

There are differing accounts of the reasons and accountability for the crash. Interesting!!!!

The sun was shining on the resting place of these young men today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.