rainbowsparklie

By rainbowsparklie

A shoe fitting send off

Spice Girl Boots have been my companion for over 15 years.

I love the Mr. Soft style bounce, the ankle hugs, the platform and the cheeky little eyebrow rings.

I first met SGB in the mid 1990's. I was doing my A-levels, SGB hung around the Bohemian North Lanes area of Brighton. I was caught by SGB's unique look and immediate knew we would be very good friends.

And good friends we have been. Inspired by the 'personality' of SGB I had the confidence to come out and be me and create my own identity. One that perhaps my family didn't approve of but that's the nature of teenage of friends isn't it? They help you shape who you are.

SGB has been a sturdy companion. Through the toil of A-levels, university years, relationships, emigration abroad to Wales, move to the Big Smoke and through into my 30s. I look back with fondness on the nights of parties and clubbing. SGB's nick name was Don't f**k with me boots. With SGB under me I had the extra confidence to go out, being raised an inch higher and a clearer view of my surroundings. As result, we enjoyed many nights clubbing in Liverpool, Manchester, Blackpool, Brighton and the other towns I worked away. We danced and danced, favouring Steps, S-Club 7 and a host of other 'cheese'.

But it wasn't all about partying. As with any dear friend SGB was there throughout a host of tough times. SGB's speciality was a literal boost. When the world seemed a scary and crowded SGB would arrive to physically lift me up. If important meetings, speeches, busy or male dominated events were in the diary, SGB instantly winked "it's ok; I'll be there with you." SGB certainly lived up to the DFWM nickname - giving not only me a lift but also those who I worked with as well. Goodness knows the weight SGB carried. Campaign trails, public speeches, medical emergencies, HR meetings, therapy, supervision, police interviews, court hearings. There's not a lot SGB hasn't heard!

But SGB was there for the more exciting milestone too. My first kiss, first date, first girlfriend and first long term relationship to name a few. Oh aye, SGB has many an embarrasing exciting tale to tell. Stories SGB will take on the journey to shoe box heaven, joining the sexy leather pants trusty side kick in the great wardrobe in the sky.

SGB retired a few years ago, living in the nursing home known as the Shoe box under the bed. I think SGB over did in one last manic party. I'm sorry I didn't support SGB in the final few months with the care, support and respect given to me. By hey, it was a fun last shopping trip in the largest shopping centre in Europe.

I am gutted that today SGB passed and we don't have one last Christmas together. I am indebted to SGB for unwavering support throughout my adult years. It is with dear and loving thought that SGB will be remembered. It will not be difficult to fondly remember SGB, but the shoe laces donated will help the legacy live on. Thanks for showing me the good times and for being there in the bad.

It has been a privilege sharing my life with you.

May you rest in peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.