Poppy in the Grass

I've finally got my greenhouse planted out. It was too hot in there yesterday so I started in the evening after dinner. As usual I didn't sleep well which gave me the opportunity to start very early this morning. Apart from a short break for breakfast I kept at it until it was all done at about 1pm. My big collection of frost-tender plants is now planted out, in the greenhouse, in the garden, and in pots. They are mostly tomatoes, but there were also zucchinis, cucumbers and pak choi.

I opened a 20 litre bucket of bokashi that has been maturing since last summer's fruit and vegetable scraps. It smelt mildly of pickles, and there were ends of sweetcorn cobs, too-big broad beans, potato peelings, etc., still looking reasonably fresh. A trowel full of this stuff went under each plant. It will break down quickly and nourish the soil.

The weather was mild and I went on working in the brief showers without getting cold. After lunch I had hoped to play with my new camera, but by then I was too tired to care. I took a few desultory shots, but my heart wasn't in it. Tomorrow, maybe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.