bananablip

By bananablip

Outside is free*

My new favourite thing to do on a Sunday afternoon is head to Attingham Park for a run. The change of scenery away from my usual, and rather mundane, route around Copthorne is good for my soul (and my knees). Today I decided to cycle out there, run around and then cycle back.

I know that I could never be somebody who uses an exercise bike or treadmill in a gym, mostly because there is nothing there for your senses to feast on (aside from other people's sweat and the blaring of dance music).

Today I encountered the following delights:

Crunchy orange leaves beneath my tires; the autumnal smell of a garden fire; squirrels and pheasants darting away from my path; fields heavy with corn; tiny cottages with wonderful names; huge stately homes; dozens of deers camouflaged by yellowing foliage; mums and babies in matching coats; Shropshire hills lining the horizon.

*when your family gift you a NT membership.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.