Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

Another collection...

Clearing out the loft (23 years of hoarding) and came across these two posters.  They constitute my Cinema Poster Collection - both of them!  Bought these in Edinburgh along South Clerk street in 1994 for a fiver each.  I thought it was extortionate but Mississippi Burning was a favourite film of mine, very disturbing and alarmingly true.  

Me and a couple of work colleagues were in Baton Rouge airport when we saw Gene Hackman at the bar.  I got the short straw to go up and speak but as I approached he stood up and I'm sure he is about 7 feet tall ;-)     His face said 'Don't even think about it' and so I went up to the bar, ordered three Michelobs and avoided any further eye contact.

The Dirty Rotten Scoundrels poster was bought because I love that film.  It still makes me laugh and Steve Martin - Brother Ruprecht's scene at the dinner table is a classic.

I've never bought another poster.  Seems I got a bargain when I picked these two up as every one I looked at in the following months was £25 plus - the price of a small car in 1994! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.