A Kirkwall shop

Went for lunch with Dougal, and his spouse, in the big smoke. Then went to see Peggy in the County Home. She was in hospital when we went away. However she has come at and is now a lot perkier. At 90 she as very bright today.

For some reason Peggy asked me to remind her of the following:

Before the big flit to Stromness my mother was in Aberdeen. Using my bus pass (and ferry concession) I would travel down from Scrabster to see her. An all day journey. The last time ever, my Mum made me some sandwiches for the bus journey north. She wrapped them in silver paper to keep them fresh and popped them in the fridge. The next day I rose at 6 and put the pieces in my rucksack and called 'cheerio'. At Guild Street bus station I was determined not to eat until the bus was in Fochabers. A wife got on at Keith and opened a sandwich. That was me. I had to get the pieces out and I laid them out on the seat beside me. On opening the silver paper I was presented with a pile of mashed tatties. How I laughed ( the wife across the isle actually did). On the phone my Mum had the temerity to ask if I ate the tatties. She told me she enjoyed the sandwiches.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.