Knaresborough. North Yorkshire.

On a near perfect a day for weather as you could possibly wish for, I drove myself and my cousin Susan over the Pennines, from Rossendale in East Lancashire, via Skipton, (known as the Gateway to the Yorkshire Dales) to Knaresborough to see my sister and hubby. 
The hills were etched against clear azure blue skies and the autumnal sunshine was glorious making the colours so rich. 
    For once, it was a pleasure to drive the 50 mile route,  which eventually climbs out of Skipton to the summit of the heatherclad moorland and descends into the valley at the other side.
On to Knaresborough. My sister, Susan and I went for lunch at a very old pub which had stone floors and low ceilings with exposed ancient beams. 
(My brother-in-law drove us to the venue and then returned home as he was busy with some jobs he was doing, and besides he knew he would not really get a word in edgeways if he had joined us! ) 
Later, after lunch we went up to the Castle grounds which stand above the River Nidd. The views from there are glorious at the best of times, but today it was simply beautiful. I took several photos with my mobile phone, before we clambered down the steep stone steps which zig-zagged down to the River , where we simply sat in warm sun outside a café, and caught up on more family news. We only manage to meet about 3 times a year. Our family being spread out. Between us we have cousins in Exeter, Kent, and Whitehaven (Cumbria). 
    The only time the whole extended family is now together is either at weddings or funerals, or big birthday celebrations, and Anniversaries like Silver and Golden Weddings. 
Well, once again it is late. Another 100miles under my belt today (there and back). 
     Susan is taking me somewhere tomorrow. Not sure where yet. 
     Time for sleep. 
Zzzzzz

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.