No 139: Red Throated Diver

UNBELIEVABLE! Today, my last day on the coast, I got 5 photos of unblipped birds! It has to be said that none of them were particularly good. This red throated diver is in winter plumage, hence the absence of a red throat. I also got pictures of the common scoters from yesterday which were still in the same spot, a razorbill, some purple sandpipers snoozing in the sunshine but impossible to photograph successfully against the light, and also an in-flight image of what were either Bewick or Whooper swans - the only ones I have any hope of seeing in the local area. As well as seeing some sea trout running at Scalby Mill, I saw porpoise off Marine Drive. Other birds I saw were wigeon, turnstone, cormorant, dipper, grey wagtail, and assorted gulls, to name but a few. Quite a day to end my visit to the coast. 4 bird blips in 4 days. More than I could have hoped for, but still not confident I can get to 150 as finding new ones locally will be very difficult.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.