Peter's Ponderings

By Lofty

Carpe diem

I waste too many of my weekends doing nothing. Lounging in bed, pottering and generally not achieving.

Not today. Oh no. But it was touch and go for a while there.

I woke up at 7:30 ready and willing to take part in the Southend Parkrun - a free 5k race every Saturday morning. But an hour later, I'm still in bed, I'm chatting away to Trotter on the other side of the planet. And I'm late.

Too late for the race, but I decided to use this as an opportunity and ran 4 miles to the gym, did my thing there and ran home (the short way), went to town to send my passport application off - confidently declaring that:

"No - I do not need to pay you to check and send my application, it was quite straight forward"

Then returned to the post office 15 minutes later to awkwardly ask for my application back out of the post pile as I'd just found the payment form on the passenger seat of the car...

Passport sent (again), I treated my self to my first ever pair of 'Chinos'... This may not sound like a big deal, but I have lived my whole life in jeans and cargo trousers. I have been made to see the error of my ways, and these smart casual trousers are apparently an integral requirement of a relationship. This is same requirement that made me learn not long after meeting Trotter that trek-shoes are no longer acceptable forms of footwear except when on a trek.....

Finally I bought my self a new set of bike lights to replace the set that didn't survive my trip across Hadleigh downs last weekend. The rear light makes for quite an interesting blipfoto photo I think (with the aid of a bed and a bit of time spent learning how to use my camera!)

Bring on tomorrow!

Other Notes and Quotes:

- Cutest thing I saw today: A staffie tied up out side a butchers in the rain staring so longingly through the window. I have never seen so much feeling in a dog's face - I nearly went and bought it a sausage!

- Most awkward thing that happened today: My housemate's 7 month old baby who so far has only mastered the word "Dadadadadada", (much to his mothers frustration that the father should be getting all the love) called me "Mama!" this morning.

- Tomorrow's blip will consist of bacon, crumpets and peanut butter.

- Total number of jigsaw pieces placed: 93...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.