DancingAly

By DancingAly

My Dear Old Man

The title says it all really. My lovely Gramps died in July aged 90. We were very close and its been a terrible loss all around. To be honest I haven't really let myself feel very upset, apart from when it was happening. It's certainly not that I don't feel sad, far from it. But I think that it's a loss that's so painful that I won't let myself go there. In his last few months he insisted on staying at home, with carers popping in several times a day, which in hindsight, was absolutely the best thing we could have done. He became very fond of one lady in particular, who we all grew to like and who supported us through one of the most difficult times in our lives. My dad went to collect a few previous items from his house in the days after he died, like the hours of home movies we watched and the photos we looked at as he passed. He found this little note. Gramps wrote this presumably a couple of weeks earlier. Suffice to say we were all rather moved, but not surprised by what he wrote. He was a very generous and kind man. I've been allowed to keep the note. We have yet to carry out his wish, as Frances had some problems and didn't make it to Gramps's funeral. But every day when I open my drawer I see that note and his familiar capital-printed letters implore me to do something to let Frances know how much her kindness and friendship were appreciated. So, Mum,if you are reading this, any ideas?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.