Bird's Nest Fungi

I met up with my best Blip Buddy Mary Jo at the 29th Annual Wild Mushroom Show in Bellingham today. It was a pretty spectacular display of mushrooms, etc, I must say.  Not being a mushroom lover I've never sought out much information on any of them other than those I see in the market, but this was a real education.  There were hundreds and hundreds all beautifully displayed in various forest settings.  

My blip is of my favorite although I have no idea if it's edible or even harvested for any purpose.  These are little (maybe 1/4 inch) "cup-shaped fruiting bodies with spores inside tiny packets (eggs).  The eggs are splashed out of their nests by raindrops".    If there was ever a cuter description of fungi, I wouldn't know what it could be.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.