Hair-raising

We had another dumping of snow this morning, just as Hubby was due to drive back from his early shift and I was due to leave for my day at work. There followed a very difficult half hour!

Hubby just managed to get the car back up the hill, but it got stuck as I tried to drive out again because the snow had fallen over the top of the thick ice that has been compacted over the past couple of weeks. I eventually got out of the track onto the hill, which at present is rather like a bobsleigh run: once you are driving in it, you just take your feet off the pedals and hold on.

Unfortunately, as I was going down the road, I met my brother struggling up in his car. Braking would have been impossible on that slope, so the only way I could stop was to drive into a snow and ice bank at the side of the road. My brother took his car into a road end (and promptly got stuck and needed helped out).

I managed to get to work some 20-30 minutes after setting out on a journey that usually takes around 5! Thankfully after 90 minutes the shower stopped and then the skies turned blue for the rest of the day.

This photo was taken out of the living room window during the snow shower, as I was watching the main road for Hubby's return from work this morning.

One year ago - The Farmer Takes a Break

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.