Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Memorabilia galore

What do you do with it?

Yesterday, I made a start on sorting some of the stuff I brought home after dad died.  But it's a slow job, because I keep coming across fascinating stuff.  The blue notebook at the front of the table is a diary written by my mother when she spent several months in France in 1947 - I've only glanced at it at the moment, but feel sure I shall want to spend more time reading it.

The booklet with DHS 1954 is the magazine from the boarding school where mum taught for a couple of years (Downe House School).  At the back is a full list of all the girls and teachers in the school with their home addresses!

It could be an invaluable resource for someone.  Downe House School is still going, and their website mentions an archive - I presume they probably have a copy, but maybe I should contact them in case they would like it?

Under those documents are birth, marriage and death certificates for my grandparents, and others.  And behind, a pile of slides taken by my grandfather, mainly pictures of me through my childhood.  If I can find a way of scanning them, maybe I'll create a folder of old pictures of me for my Facebook page!  

And there's a lot more in the box on the floor.  It's all mixed up - some from my mum's side, some from my dad's - although a lot of the stuff from dad's side is in another box with his genealogy research.  

Roll on retirement, when I can devote the time needed to sort all this.  Otherwise, it'll all still be in boxes after I've died, and the girls will just throw it all in a skip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.