Roll With It

By Falmike

Good Day

Whilst I might not have 'bounced' out of bed I felt good, despite the weather.

The day was full of good intentions;
Cut down on the coffee - Three cups before 08:00
Nothing from the hot plate - Steak pie for lunch
Leave work at 3:30pm - Left at 3:45pm
Two and a half hour run at the gym - No run at all

But I did go to visit a good friend; Ted Turvey is 95 Years Old today, a remarkable man. He and I are the only two General Service Engineers in the Falmouth Branch The Royal Naval Association. He was a Mechanician, I an Artificer, he served twenty two years, from 1935 to 1957, a career that saw him serve on a variety of ships. Ted's age might mean his sight is failing and he has trouble getting around but he is as sharp as a razor. As he said; "It's me hair thats gone, not me marbles". Two hours in his company sharing a glass or two of something was an absolute pleasure.

The photograph is taken from my Granddaughter, Anais, school webpage, she is on the left appearing in the school play. Although the school is in Barcelona it is St Peters English school hence the English on display. In the run up to Christmas I miss them all, in Barcelona and London

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.