Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Beware, the measuring jug that lies!

I've been trying to make bread in my bread maker recently but with not much luck. I'll always have to add extra water at the kneeding stage or it ends up being a burnt, floury brick. I finally got really frustrated that the cookery book was lying to me so I went and checked that the cute little measuring jar (from that scandinavian shop we all know and love) was accurate.

Turns out it's not. The centilitres are accurate but the fluid ounces are not. I should have guessed something was wrong when 4 fl oz was listed below 10 cl. Obviuosly it was either designed for decorative purposes only or Scandinavian fluid ounces are smaller than our own. It also would explain why my flatmate Jen completely failed on 3 attempts to make profiteroles even though the recipe was designed for small children to follow.

I think I'll be getting a new measurer.

In other news: I'm loving flicking through other people's photos and coming across photos of places I recognise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.