Freddie Fender Meets John Rowles

My Dear Fellows & Princess Normal,

Lemon & Cazza have kind of been having a conversation through me.

It started when Lemon mentioned Freddie Fender. "You know... Freddie Fender? Party music?" 

I looked as blank as I expect you all do now.

So I googled him. He's a Mexican-American singer who was popular in the 1970's. And as it turns out, his fame spread to New Zealand where he was popular party music for parents. 

I'm kind of thinking he was the Des O'Connor of New Zealand. But Mexican. Then again, this didn't bother Lemon or her family. When she was younger, Lemon just assumed every popular male singer was Maori.

"You mean Englebert Humperdinck ISN'T a Maori?" Lemon asked her sister.
"No."
"Not even a Pacific Islander?"
"He's ENGLISH, dumbarse!"

"Well how was I to know?" said Lemon. "His song 'Ten Guitars' is a like a Maori classic."*

I mentioned this to Cazza when I got in. "Freddie Fender!" she said. "Oooh, ask her about John Rowles."

I got into work today and mentioned John Rowles. Lemon burst out laughing. "John bloody Rowles! My mum LOVED him!"

As it happens, today is also the 11th wedding anniversary for Cazza and me. This time 11 years ago, we were standing in front of a different man in a medallion and an opened shirt, delivering our vows to us. To celebrate, I went to a posh designer cake shop where I bought Cazza some flash cakes and took this blip.

I'm not sure if that is romantic or not. I guess it is. But in memory of that moment, let us allow Mr. John Rowles to serenade Cazza as we depart this blip.

S.

* This is totally true. Google it if you don't believe me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.