Extremely wet Thursday morning!

Having been cooped up in the house all day yesterday, due to torrential frequent showers, we went for a walk this morning setting off in watery sunshine to Chase Farm Shop and Cafe. 
     I enjoyed the autumn colours once more and the bright green on the larch trees. Leaves are now falling thick and fast, and we scrunched our way through them along the pavements and grass verges. 
      After our welcome cup of coffee, we set out for home, where in front of us above the tree line the sky was a deep inky blue, heralding an approaching downpour. 
We both have excellent waterproof walking jackets and I was wearing my walking boots. The best pair I have had so far. 
     My last ones which have seen us climb several mountains and fells in the Lake District over the years, were very comfortable, but not as waterproof. 
    When we arrived home just before lunchtime I had to put our two pairs of jeans in the dryer and hang up the coats to dry. They cannot be tumble-dried. 
        Stephen took this photo of me as we were nearing our road, having got back to our urban habitat from the edge of open countryside. 
I had thoroughly enjoyed the walk inspite of the rain!
   Spent the afternoon taking out my friend who had the stroke last November. Her speech still has not fully recovered. I cannot imagine how frustrating that must be for her. She tries so hard. Her two daughters still taking it in turns to come up from London every Friday and going home on Tuesday. They want her to move in with one of them. They both have young children and plenty of room for her. But so far she is refusing. 
It's a case of me just listening. 
They are the ones doing the hard yards and eventually will  have to make a tough decision about her future care. She will not be able to permanently live on her own........
   
   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.