A Colourful Day in Edinburgh.

Into hospital for my Steroid Drip.
I met a man who was a real inspiration.
He had an operation yesterday to restore his sight.
Bouncing with joy, and delighted to talk to me about it.
He could not see anything for the last 2 years.
And this morning, he woke up and could see again!
I saw him cry quietly to himself a few times when the realisation hit him again.
Talking to him, he said he was affraid to close his eyes in case he opened them again and it was all a dream, or it would all go back to the way it was yesterday.
What a fantastic experience to share with another person.
The other things he told me about himself were equally gob-smacking.
He has been dancing (Ballroom) since he was 12 years old.
Goes to Tea Dances 3 times a week.
He goes on 3 holidays a year (for 4 weeks at a time) - SAGA tours.
And this revalation was the best for me -
His birthday is next week - 90 ! Ninety Years Old!
He looked to me like a healthy 55 - 60 year old bloke!

Anyhoo, he certainly brightened up what is usually a tedious trip to the hospital, and put a lot of things into perspective for me today.

Thanks for reading this if you got this far - Tell me what you think about this, and the picture.
Lots going on - I love my life. Every bit of it.

Cheers.

JimH.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.