Blue Tuesday

Quite a difference from yesterday, no?

Went to work, worked, went back home.  In between classes I wanted to fall asleep but there is no quiet corner anywhere to do just that, unless I walk back to the car (20 min.), snooze for an hour, then walk back (20 min.) ... if I don't get too comfy in the car and forget to return.  Anyway, I kept myself awake by doing part of my current MOOC with some Urdu music in the background.  By 14.10, I was done with my classes, so back to the car and drove to Kralingen, our old place, to attend an introductory seminar on getting a foreign assignment.  Started at 15.00 and was supposed to last for two hours, followed by drinks and chitchat, but I left at 16.30 as I am not so fond of cocktails or 'happy hours'.  Besides, I never take drink when I have to get behind the wheel.  Of course, my departure went smack together with the afternoon rush hour.  Instead of pushing myself between the other cars to get to the Brienenoord first, as I used to do when we were working at Kralingen, turned around and went back the way I came, up the Willemsbrug and then towards the south.  As bad luck would have it, an accident in the Heinenoord Tunnel blocked two of the three lanes so was forced to turn left on the A15 then onto the A16.  One can guess that I wasn't the only one who had to do that.  In short, a massive jam that stretched all the way to Dordrecht, compounded by an accident on the A16 itself, by which time I was really, really sleepy.  Forced myself until I reached the filling station closer to home.  Parked, opened all windows, and had a power break.  Phoned AW and he said it was a good decision.  Still managed to reach home just before his bridge partner, R, picked him up for the regular Tuesday evening tournament.

Btw, the new MOOC is The Fall of the Roman Republic.  Looks exciting.  This should complement the Ancient Rome MOOC of last year.  The Global Citizenship MOOC is about to end, so pretty good timing now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.