Highly Unsprung

By CynicalWench

New Directions and Wellbeing Distractions

Going with your kid to a uni open afternoon at a wonderful institution and having the joy of seeing him fully committed to a course that feels tailor made just for him, with lecturers brimming full of insight and empathy. That is a boost to a worried parents soul and no mistake. I am forever excited that Sam continues to choose conservation as a pathway; I'm keeping everything crossed he bags a course place and enjoys every single minute.

As a parent chaperone I hoped I might leave reassured. I did of course. But after having a chance conversation i also left as a cheeky wee mature DL Masters applicant in the making. That was unexpected, but pretty cool. A much needed bright and shiny thing to apply for in 2019. And a motherflippin excellent topic so much closer to my heart and relevant to the world today compared to the bitterly dull PHD studentship, 2 years in, that I ran away from 20 years ago in favour of working down London way.

Finding bright and shiny things when you least expect it can be a life saver.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.