Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Hike to Raven Cliff Falls

Yesterday was the hardest hike I have ever done...9 miles with about half of the miles on the most strenuous trail in South Carolina.  Dismal Trail has really earned its name, not because it is gloomy and ugly, but because it will  challenge the hiker to wonder if they will ever get off.   

We started our morning at 9:30, cold but sunny.  Seven of us met and decided we wanted to do the loop trail to the top of the waterfall and then back to the parking area on the easier part. We hiked to the scenic overlook to see the whole waterfall before starting down the mountain and around to the top where we would cross the top of the falls on a suspension bridge.   In the photo, you can barely see a person on the bridge at the top of the falls.      Being pretty smart, we determined we needed to do the tough Dismal Trail downhill, 1000 feet elevation drop over rocks and more rocks.  Not little rocks but small boulders, shelf rocks and rocks that were steps but too high for my short legs to step down comfortable.  Thankful for my walking pole.   Two ladies did not have hiking poles so we found some sturdy tree limbs which we broke off for them to use.   The trail was so steep that the backpack I carried felt like it was making me top heavy and I would just tumble over at any time!   A one point on this trail, the forest service had embedded a long piece of chain between two trees to help you get up or down the trail..that is how strenuous this was.   Finally we got out of the downhill rock field (and so glad we were that we did this downhill instead of reversing our route, uphill would have made us weep!)  and then had a series of switchbacks that went more down hill toward Matthews Creek.  You can see the creek way down the hill in the second photo on the right.   

 We crossed several little feeder creeks on our way down on the switchbacks but we finally reached a fairly level trail, still a little hard but so much better which ran beside the creek.  It was roaring with water from the recent rains. I put a photo of a part of it.    We then came to the crossing, a half tree with a hand rail.  It was really gorgeous here and cold..we had to put our jackets back on.  I don't think this spot gets very much sunshine way down in the valley.  The larger photo is the view from my rock where I sat to eat.  

So then we had to cross and start back up hill.  Holy moly Batman, it was the narrowest, hardest trail and wet.  The water was seeping out of the rocks which made for very hazardous climbing up.  Needless to say, we went very slow, sometimes using roots and trees and other rocks to pull ourselves up.   There were three ladders that went up to the next level.  One is in the photo.   Then we can upon a large granite slab of rock on the side of the trail..straight up as far as we could see.  It had many small dripping waterfalls..we did get a little wet as the water was right on the trail because to the right it dropped off into the whatever below.  By this time my legs were quivering, Louise had a knee that was telling her it was not good, Sylvie slipped and fell on wet leaves.  But we continued on, finally got to the suspension bridge over the top of the falls.  By this point we had only walked four miles by our estimate based on the trail stats  and LInda's fitbit but it felt like ten.  Two of the ladies just had on regular sneakers.. I worried about them twisting ankles.   

But after the bridge we had still more uphill which is where I took the photo above with the sunlight coming through on to the steps.  It was after 2:45 and we will had miles to go.   Luckily when we managed to get to the connection to the other trail, it was actually an old road bed so the walking was much easier but still uphill with a moderate grade.  

Why did I do this?   Being in the forest is magic.  Louise and I lagged behind most of the time and would just listen to the sounds or the silence.  The leaves were still colorful so I felt like I was enveloped in a comfortable blanket sometimes.    Even with my gasping breath, my quivering legs, and knowing that I was going to pay with hurt muscles and stiff knees, it was worth the time spent in the forest.   I learned I can do some hard things physically and mentally.   Hanging off the side of a rock face holding on to a root  while trying to pull yourself up on a slick rock really makes you recognize your own strength of character.   No one whined or complained..we all agreed we had a wonderful day.

But we all agreed we won't ever hike that particular trail again!  

I forgot to change the date on this and it won't let me go back to put this entry on Saturday so I will just post a single photo for Saturday's blip.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.