Skelsmergh Tarn

To match Mr P's Wainwrights challenge I have decided upon a "lakes & tarns" challenge. There are about as many lakes and tarns in The Lakes as there are Wainwright peaks but most are very much lower than the peaks. To claim a tarn I need to dip my hand in it, possibly swim in it if circumstances allow and if all fails just view it from as close as I can get. I thought this tarn was going to be a viewing only tarn until I found a gate with a notice Kendal Angling Club only.   Opened the gate, no sign of anglers, there was a nice boardwalk taking me to the water's edge so I could dip my crutch in - does that count as my hand. I'm making a table to log my watery vists. Pleased to be able to tick this one off. Not coming back to swim in it. Don't think the anglers would approve

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.