A Friday of Black

We picked up a newspaper yesterday that was filled with Black Friday ads. I sorted them out, and developed a plan. Since I WON'T go out on Thanksgiving night...Black Friday it would be...for me.

My alarm went off at 5:15 a.m., and I was in line at Target at 5:45 for the 6 a.m. opening. I sized up my "competition", and picked out a couple of seniors that I would knock over if I had to. I also picked on a couple of small children...chastising their mothers for dragging the kids out of bed.

The clock struck six.

With a brush and a crush...
into the store we did rush...
like a pack of restless dogs...
when ordered to mush.

I got what I wanted, paid up, and was ready for store #2.

At the Home Depot, the birds on the wire were confused, bewildered, and wondering why so many people were storming the doors. But, 4 of them had opinions. They spoke up...and they talked in rhymes.

BIRD #1: "How many of these shoppers...
                  do you think are in debt?
                  "How many of these shoppers...
                   will have buyer's regret?"
BIRD #2: "What are all these people doing...
                  are they crazed and absurd?
                  Do you think we should scare them...
                  with that scene from The Birds?"
BIRD #3: "They stand in this line...
                   it looks like no-holds-barred.
                  With that being said...
                  can I get a bankcard?"
BIRD #4: "LET'S ALL RUSH THE DOOR...
                  LET'S GO IN WITH SPEED!
                  WE'LL FIND US SOME MUNCHIES!
                  WE'LL FIND THE BIRD SEED!"

Pretty smart birds.

Disclaimer: Don't believe any of this. I went and walked with my buddy at 8:30, and didn't hit Target until 10 a.m. Plus, I ordered some things last night online from the comfort of my Lazy-boy, and just picked them up today.

I did end up with quite a stash. A small TV for my workshop, a couple of buckets for my bucket addiction, a face mask, AA batteries, a drill, gloves, a wet-vac, a Chromecast, and a small tablet. WOO-HOO! BLACK FRIDAY!
                   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.