Mea Culpa!

I lost my head!
Thank you everyone for all your kind thoughts and comments yesterday. I must now confess and am hugely relieved to say that my purse and camera were found at the back of the Uber that we’d got in a panic when we realised we were getting really late (there seemed to be something going on at Twickenham) and abandoned the tube to get to Kew. I now feel very guilty about suspecting criminal intent. We had tried the Uber as our first check but heard nothing until this morning by which time I had been fretting about how I’d sort out my train.

This morning, I entertained my niece and my sister by rolling around and virtually hanging upside down and STILL nothing would drop out my pockets so I’m still baffled by the whole thing. Anyway, all’s well that end’s well. The whole episode made me realise how quickly vulnerable we can feel and become. It was fascinating to see how the sorting of the practicalities was anxiety provoking but a case of getting on with it but the photo, even though I have a copy of it, was entirely eviscerating and was the thing that bought me to tears.

My niece and partner went off to catch up with friends before heading back to Switzerland and my sister and I wandered the streets and into Hyde Park to have a look at the exhibition (blip) at the Serpentine Gallery ...
https://www.serpentinegalleries.org/exhibitions-events/atelier-eb-passer

The Waking - Theodore Roethke

I wake to sleep, and take my waking slow.
I feel my fate in what I cannot fear.
I learn by going where I have to go.

We think by feeling. What is there to know?
I hear my being dance from ear to ear.
I wake to sleep, and take my waking slow.

Of those so close beside me, which are you?
God bless the Ground! I shall walk softly there,
And learn by going where I have to go.

Light takes the Tree; but who can tell us how?
The lowly worm climbs up a winding stair;
I wake to sleep, and take my waking slow.

Great Nature has another thing to do
To you and me; so take the lively air,
And, lovely, learn by going where to go.

This shaking keeps me steady. I should know.
What falls away is always. And is near.
I wake to sleep, and take my waking slow.
I learn by going where I have to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.