Mr John

By MrJohn

Dream .....

..... Car.

I've had a fairly busy day today. This morning I woke up a 6:30 am, which is a bit strange for me as I usually wake up dead on 7am ( alarm set or not ). It's been a frosty morning and I went for a walk to take in all the crispyness under foot. When I got back home I had a breakfast of porrige with honey and a cup of tea and then set off to Huddersfield to drop some work off.

Also at Martin's studio today were Nick and Willem from Holland, the four of us were joined by Louise and we had a lovely lunch of broccoli and stilton soup in one of the local cafes. After finishing of a bit of work and attempting to do some filming for Martin, I headed back in to Leeds for a wander.

Leeds is always a great place to visit when there is no shopping involved. I got a few photos printed off at Jessops, had a wander around taking photos and stopped in to the white cloth gallery for a cuppa and bought a magazine of portrait photos. I ended up staying a bit too long in the gallery and missed the train I was planning to get so headed back in to town for another wander.

On my way back to the station I spotted an Austin A30 parked up by the corn exchange. Although I passed my driving test aged 17 and owned a morris van at the time, I've not driven since the age of 17. There's been no real reason for me to drive, I went away to university and couldn't afford to run a car and then I worked in London where public transport is much easier than cars, then I moved to Yorkshire and either work at home or a 5 minute walk down the road. Despite this I've always fancied owning an Austin A30, I used to walk past one every week day on my way to school as a kid and fell in love with the idea of owning one.

Whilst taking this photo I had a call from my dad to let me know that their Bulldog Cooper had passed away early this morning ( about the time I woke up ). He was 8 years old which isn't too bad an age for a Bulldog. Last time I was down in London he was looking very much like an old man and I kind of knew I wouldn't be seeing him when I go back down at Christmas, so made a point of saying my goodbyes to him then ( got a bit of a tear in my eye as I write this ).

I've just had a Chinese take away for my tea and have put a few other photos from today in a Flickr set here. I now plan to spend the rest of the evening with my feet up, the log burning stove on and a glass or two of sloe gin. As you don't see too many of them around, today's blip is my .....


..... Dream car.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.