Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Lone Tree, Acton Trussell

A fleeting opportunity to take a shot before an intense day in a large room taking part in an emergency flooding exercise dealing with the aftermath of the disaster.

I came away from the day in awe of the responsibility that falls on people like me when a civil emergency happens. The shear breadth of diffierent issues you have to deal with when a disaster such as flooding occurs is truly mind boggling. I was amazed to find out that more than 10% of people displaced when flooding inundates their homes are still in alternative accomodation 12 months later.

We were left in no doubt that those people involved in recovery efforts after recent flooding disasters, Cumbria, Gloucester, etc made Herculean efforts to help those affected. I am in awe of the potential responsibilty and only hope that if I am called on at some time in the future, I will be up to the task.

In light of apparent increased frequency of these events, it may only be a matter of time!

p.s thanks for your kind comments of yesterday's image, which sent it to the Spotlight page today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.