Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Covent Garden

I went up to London again today - three days in a row is very unusual for me. However it is that time of the year, the silly season, and I went to the annual Christmas lunch with a group of friends who are some of the mothers from Thomas' year group at school. I left home in good time as I was worried the trains would be bad again today, but other than departing from our station 12 minutes late they were okay for the rest of the day.

It was blowing a gale this morning - when I walked Murdoch this morning we both came home feeling very windswept. The wind did not seem so bad in London, probably as I was protected by the buildings. The restaurant was in Covent Garden and so I took this photo of the Christmas decorations there. I have also added an extra of the Christmas lights on Strand Street (and look at that traffic!) 

We had a lovely lunch and despite this being our boys' last year at school I am sure we will continue the tradition of a Christmas lunch to catch up on each other's news. The lunch was delicious - not Christmas food, just wonderful food well cooked.

Adam left today to go ski racing in France for the annual varsity competition - race training for a few days and then the two competitions take place on Monday and Tuesday next week. They ski hard and fast and I always feel relieved when he is back safely from that trip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.