Cobbled Together

The basement has been a very dusty, cluttered space with no active life, even in the best of times when I've known it. Though it still has a good way to go, I have installed a little workshop for myself down there.

To give the house's usual dustiness a little dimension, a piece of junk mail came in the afternoon, addressed to "Youth And Students For World Peace & Enviro--," which once had its offices in the shoe-box of a tenant here. The present owner & housemate-of-mine tells me that they were already long gone when he arrived in 1980. There are things all through the rooms taking up space that are older and have far more uncertain provenance.

Earlier in the day this space was jammed with broken bricks, dust, and empty cardboard boxes. Here I've moved a table from the front porch, mounted it with things found lying useless, and started arranging my gear. I ran a cord in for plugging in the tools and hung the old fast food sign for a "touch of class" --ha!

I took a lot of satisfaction in doing these simple things, down under the house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.