Jive

I bought this tape on the way to work one Friday lunchtime. From the old Fopp shop on Cockburn Street. The original one, not the one that I went on to work at across the street that was on two floors, this was the tiny one, when I was just a normal member of the public rather than some record store fella. We've mentioned that before, I've used that line before...onwards.

Anyway, back then in the mid-90s I worked at The Cameo cinema and I did the bar shift on a Friday, opening up early afternoon and finishing around 9. And we had a tape player in the bar for us to play our own bar-appropriate, punter-suitable music on. I stuck this tape on early evening when we were a bit busier, just as the films were about to go in. Me and the other bar person were enjoying the music when someone from the council (I think it was the council) came in and stood right next to the bar and said that he was there to test volume levels because there there were residential flats above the bar and cinema. So, for about half an hour he made us keep turning the volume up in small increments as he wrote things down on his clipboard. And it got to a point where you couldn't actually hear what people were saying as they tried to buy drinks, and a fair few folk left because it was just ridiculously loud. We kept glancing over to him with a kind of "That's enough, yeah? We can turn it back to normal now?" look and he'd just keep indicating to us to turn it up a bit more still.

I'm surprised the ancient bar speakers coped.

Jive

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.