Lucky Day

I looked out the window this afternoon and saw three Northern Flickers hunting bugs in the grass!  They were joined by four hummies fighting over my feeder which I suspect is one of the last in the complex.  Most people take theirs down when it gets cold, but the hummies seem to be staying so my feeder will as well.  There were three or four squirrels, several crows, geese of course, and assorted ducks on the water.  We're having some really cold nights now and I've forgotten a couple of times to bring the hummie feeder in at night so, it's pretty well iced up in the mornings.  My first task, even before a cup of tea, is to bring it inside and thaw it out because the hummies are waiting.  How those dear little things survive when it's 30 degrees out, I'll never know. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.