Still in the dark

An exciting day working from home - which is always the best thing ever.

I was waiting in for a new carpet to be delivered and fitted. I know, I know, I really must stop bragging about this international playboy life I lead.

The Brexit debate continues in parliament. God knows why five days have been allocated to it, Does it really take that long for 650 people to stand up one after the other and say “this is a bucket of poo and I shall not be sticking my head into it”?

I think I now know how the EU felt through the negotiations. Apparently they couldn’t believe how utterly useless we were being and were driven insane worrying that it was all an ingenious long con, where at the last minute they would find themselves completely wrong footed. They don’t any more.

But I now have that feeling about this debate. It appears inevitable that this deal will be voted down by a huge margin, such that a minor tweak - and I believe the EU have said the only change possible would be to the font - isn’t going to save it. So why are we going through the motions? Is there a brilliant trap being set, or is Theresa really just playing for time; hoping a miracle will happen?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.