One Street

I read in the forum about 'One Street'. This is a project where you take a series of shots documenting 'one street'.

After our recent flooding I decided I would like to give this a go and after a bit of deliberating decided that the Main Street in our little village may be interesting.

Looking at it early this morning it is difficult to believe that it is a favourite tourist destination. It is billed as 'the gateway to the Highlands'. In the summer and at weekends there are many visitors to the village. Various outdoor pursuits are enjoyed in this area and this is often the starting point.

The original project involved poetry to accompany the photographs but this is not something I will attempt. (Unless I find an already written poem that enhances the shot).

The cones and sandbags are annoying me when I look at this but they are still here following the flood on 19th November. Much of this street was underwater. The shops and the Hotel were not able to keep the water out. The fire brigade was transporting people along the road in a dinghy. Pity I hadn't taken any photos of that but it would have been tricky as our road was also flooded so I was unable to get to the Main Street.

I am looking forward to this project. I have no real plan as to when I will take the photos. It may be when some event takes place or it may just be a picture of daily life on this street. For me that is the appeal. I don't know what I will have or how long I will spend doing this. It could be days, weeks, months or years.

So, this was the Main Street on a cold, frosty, Sunday morning before any tourists arrived. The sun was just coming up and was already shining on Ben Lomond.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.