Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

In the Queue for Food

A little bird, with plumage brown,
Beside my window flutters down,
A moment chirps its little strain,
Ten taps upon my window-pane,
And chirps again, and hops along,
To call my notice to its song;
But I work on, nor heed its lay,
Till, in neglect, it flies away.

So birds of peace and hope and love
Come fluttering earthward from above,
To settle on life's window-sills,
And ease our load of earthly ills;
But we, in traffic's rush and din
Too deep engaged to let them in,
With deadened heart and sense plod on,
Nor know our loss till they are gone.

Paul Laurence Dunbar

The happiest thing I have achieved since moving here is to increase the House Sparrow population. By ensuring there is always food for the birds when they need it, and having areas where they can nest at the safe distance from the farms cats, their numbers have prospered. This year there were late frosts, endless rain in the summer and slugs galore. The wild food that would normally be available in this area, is at an all time low. I'm back to feeding full on as though it was mid winter. The sight of all the birds flocking may be spectacular but is also worrying.

Keep feeding your birds!

:) I'm convinced, the post war glass looking out to the feeders has to go!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.