Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

Back to the greenhouse. First work task of today was to dry washed pots. The plastic kind you get bought plants in. And...it wasn't 10... it was a lot of plastic pots! I didn't know were to put them, so I placed them temporarily on a table, while drying more. My supervisor told me that we had a meeting with my contact at the sort of employment agency connected to the job center, that the greenhouse is part of. Before the meeting I walked around with my camera in the greenhouse and took some photos. This is, obviously, one of them.
During the meeting we talked a lot. Since my new contact doesn't know me I told her a bit of what I've done before. We talked about the greenhouse and my current situation. Then she said that she thought she had a plan for me - considering what I've been through before. She asked me if I wanted to start working at the greenhouse with a salary, not just a rehabilitating work practice, but actual employment. I was so surprised to get this offer already, but of course I said yes! My supervisor also said this was a really good idea and it turns out I have the possibility to get an education too, so I can work in greenhouses in the future. This is not now. This will happen some time during next year, but it was the best Christmas present ever! It will make a lot of things easier. I do have some stuff to work on... and my supervisor will help me. I don't like to leave unfinished work - which she said she'd noticed. I don't like to leave things so that other people have to clean up after me... She'd noticed that too... So, I have to work on letting some of this go. When we came back from the meeting I noticed that someone had removed the pots I'd dried and stacked. I felt a bit uncomfortable about that and told my supervisor. Apparently I have to let go of that too... 
Off to bed soon. Early rise tomorrow too. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.