advent

so its finally here....december!!

hasnt time flown..looking back on my blips since the 1st day of 2012 (while its a pretty boring blip) it seems like a long time ago but also not so long ago!!

time really does fly...so make the most of each day!

today, i was helping out at our uni's open day, showing round prospective students and talking them about my course....get getting paid!! WIN WIN!

then i went into town to try and battle with the hundreds of other shoppers trying things on, eating, walking slowly around the shops...they all had hands fill of bags and boxes...ready to be taken home and wrapped to make someone's christmas a special one.
Adverts hit us with full force as the holiday approaches, encouraging us to buy a Christmas tree, or decorations and ornaments, or buy cards to send to family and friends, and to buy gifts for everyone we know. Christmas songs are played as background music in stores.

it made me think..'what would make my christmas special?'
now, i would like to think im quite a simple person, not with massively expensive taste or such like, i dont have a looooong list of things i want that will make my room/life more cluttered.
i would like to enjoy christmas with my 2 big brothers, and my wonderful parents. id like to enjoy some homecooked food and a warm house and sleep in my own bed under one roof with my family.

most importantly, i want to celebrate the real reason for christmas how God came to earth as a baby, born in a stable, with humble beginnings. it changed the course of the worlds history and as i have chosen to believe that Jesus was the Son of God, this changes everything about Christmas for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.