misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Soup's On!

Now here we are, for those waiting to see what's happing to the Winter Luxury squash one early wintry day.
I've crowded 4 things together on the stove top. One roasted pumpkin in the back. And roasted pumpkins seeds on the red plate to the right. Those do not go into the soup but are chopped for breads.
You can see it has been roasted by the well-browned top on that largest pumpkin. And in front on the left is a bowl with the flesh of most of the two roasted pumpkins. As the soup cools I will continue adding more of the pumpkin. And the rest will be bagged and frozen for future delights.
To the right bottom is the pot of soup, in process. I'd made what turned out to be a very thick broth when cooking down to bones of the huge Thanksgiving turkey (48.5 pounds or 21.9 kg). The people at the feast shared in taking home leftover turkey. I helped myself to some of that and also was given the carcass which seems to be an annual "gift". I was also lent a great big pot for the job.
I think I should have used much more water when cooking the bones because the broths is not very liquid, but is very rich with meat off the bones.

Well enough of that! As a late autumn and winter soup this Winter Luxury Turkey soup is divine. I believe we have spent enough days on this 'science project' so I will not put up a bowl of the W.L. Soup blip tomorrow
but will get back to cat blips and maybe a nice sunrise or sunset.
I am enjoying this soup for days to come!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.