AllyCP

By AllyCP

Charlie

It was an incredibly ordinary day. Not a bad day. Just ordinary. I got up, downed my morning coffee, spent the morning in meetings and the afternoon playing catchup. I got my car washed and did some holiday shopping. Ordinary, right?

So, I struggled with inspiration today. Then, as I sat down this evening I was greeted by these beautiful eyes. This is Charlie, my old man. He lost his best friend a few months ago. Since then, he has really latched on to me for comfort and attention. Formerly not a lap cat, he now tentatively crawls into my lap regularly. He reminds me how important friends are to our lives and how, when they leave, they can leave a hole.

Though under very different circumstances, I also lost a very important friend in my life. So, we're just two peas. No matter what I am doing, I will always make a place on my lap for Charlie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.