michigan man

By outdoorguy

Project of the Day

I've been enamored (read obsessed) lately with GPS co-ordinates. (Yeah, I know...I need a life!)

The co-ordinates usually come in two different ways...DMS (degrees, minutes, and seconds), and DD (decimal degrees.) The two systems present the numbers in a different way, but both are based on degrees away from both the equator (latitude) and the Prime Meridian (longitude.)

The fun part (?) is converting the numbers between the two systems (which is odd, because I'm not a big fan of math.) 

The project is the co-ordinates (in DMS) of the place we go to in Florida. We usually have a Valentine's Day party where we exchange low-priced gifts, so I thought someone might like it.

P.S. It's easy to get GPS points of anywhere on Earth. I get mine from Google Earth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.