In today's post...

".....you, John, are finally free for a bit, so how would you like to be the interim pastor at the Federated?....."

That is the Federated Church in Thomaston, Maine.  

I spent three months here in the late 1970's on an exchange.   Among the very finest, friendly and lovely people, in the loveliest town, in the best State of the USA.

For a minute I thought, why not?    Then I thought of several reasons.   For one thing, I am barred for getting a travel authority to the US.   Since I examined on behalf of the Surgeons in Sudan - one of the countries on the US black list, if I wanted to visit the States I would have to go for a personal interview to London or Belfast.   Secondly, we are shortly heading off to NZ to visit family and to sit out a good portion of the winter in the southern hemisphere sunshine.    Thirdly, a quote from the letter - "Many of those who cherished your being here have passed on...." True, and that would make it a little sad - but then there are enough who have not, and how lovely it would be to see them....

But sadly, not at this time.  I do hope to see some of those old friends who are still around at some time though....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.