Time stood still

Yesterday my watch stopped - the battery lasts about 3 years and I have had the watch for 18 years and 2 months so I was not surprised, it was due. What did surprise me was how many watches I found in the drawer with my jewellery box. I only have two wrist watches and a pendant watch, yet there were another 6 wrist watches in the drawer as those belonging to my late aunt and mum had been kept as well. No use to me yesterday of course - they had all stopped because they are all battery operated and the batteries had died - not like the old days when we just needed to wind them up.
I only took my own to the shop for new batteries  - I did not feel inclined to splash out on 9 new batteries! I should really get rid of the others - a couple of them are completely unused - but......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.