In Sync

I believe these are the two geese who visited me along with the one who was injured last week.  They've been hanging around since "she" left.  

Well, first, "she" is a "he" and a phone call to the rescue center today yielded a report on him and his injured leg.  It wasn't broken, but he had a bad infection in the joint.  He is now on antibiotics, eating well, and happily hanging out with the other geese at the rescue center.  His prognosis is so good that they expect to return him to the wild very soon. 

 When I asked if he would be brought back to the estuary that runs behind my apartment where he was picked up, I was told that the Department of Wildlife will make that decision but their preferred way to deal with wildlife is to return an injured animal to the area where it was found.  So, hopefully, "my" goose will end up back on familiar territory with his flock.  I don't suppose I'll recognize him in the flock,  and I'm pretty sure the rescue center won't tie a bow on him or something, but I'm kind of expecting him to show up on my back step where I fed him for several weeks while I tried to figure out how to catch him.  He ought to remember it as a prime feeding spot!

I have to say that the whole experience has really, really, really made me feel good and I am beyond happy that he is getting well and can get back to doing whatever geese do.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.