Au Revoir

SMILE says the notice behind Poppy and so she does as she prepares to leave the Dower House to get the bus to St Andrews to see another friend. The case certainly looks a lot fuller than it was when she arrived, but I’ve checked all the family silver and other treasures and I’m 100% sure it is just clothes taking up the room.

I was very sad to see her go. It was lovely to have someone else in the house to talk to and laugh with. I have missed that aspect of life as a couple.

Later, I used one of my Christmas gift tokens for Söderberg to indulge myself with coffee and toast before emptying my wardrobe of clothes in preparation of the heating engineer having to open up its roof to get at the flue pipes of the boiler.

How can I possible have accumulated so many items in my present thin phase?
I tell myself I will be decisive about what to give to charity and what to keep, but the decision will be so difficult, that the whole caboodle will probably end up going back into the wardrobe unchallenged.

I am now awaiting the arrival of my niece and her husband coming back from holiday in Malta and taking me out for dinner before they travel north to their home. I’ve just time to read the papers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.